Arthur Ssegwanyi crowned king of Rwabushenyi Memorial

first_img Tags: Arthur Ssegwanyichess Ssegwanyi (L) is the 2019 Rwabushenyi champion. (PHOTO/Courtesy)International Master Arthur Ssegwanyi reclaimed the Rwabushenyi Memorial crown on Sunday in an almost unblemished manner.The top seed in East Africa crashed all but one opponent on his way to regaining supremacy.Ssegwanyi had last won the championship in 2016, but with victories in his first six games and with FM Patrick Kawuma and Haruna Nsubuga- the genuine competitors- faltering, the championship was destined to the IM’s direction.Despite sharing spoils with Kawuma in the penultimate round, the rated 2335 had done just enough to regain glory. He capped an excellent display with victory over veteran and Candidate Master Bob Bibasa in the final round.And with 7.5 points to his name, Ssegwanyi reclaimed the championship by half a point. His success means he equals FM Harold Wanyama’s record of three Rwabushenyi championships.Kawuma entered the competition as defending champion but was left to settle for second place. A draw verses Innocent Kimera in the third round proved too costly for the Olympian who won the previous two editions.Kawuma finished with 7 points level with Simon Gonza the other podium finisher, but took second spot on a tiebreak.Gonza had an amazing tournament. It’s been a minute since he last featured on the the podium, but a firing form saw him do just that. The rated 2134 drew against Caxton Kalule and Solomon Lubega but was in unforgiving mood against his other opponents.Nsubuga’s disappointing display saw him finish 14th. His quest for a maiden Rwabushenyi title continues.In the Ladies category, WFM Penninah Nakabo took the honours. Nakabo, a fast rising star in the region won the event with five points. Five ladies including Kenya’s WCM Lucy Wanjiru, Joyce Ndirangu, (both from Kenya) WFM Gorreti Angolikin and WCM Shakira Ampaire finished with five points, but Nakabo edged the quartet on a tiebreak.In the Juniors section, Ezra Ssekabira emerged as a surprising winner in the boy’s section. The yougster started the tournament ranked 103, but finished as champion with 5.5 points. Denis Mukisa and Osborn Mwebembezi took second and third place respectively.Mary Kevin Ndagire won the Girls’ section with five points. Abigail Kirabo and Patience Kyomuhendo were 2nd and 3rd.Pre-tournament favourite WCM Peace Nabuyondo came 18th with four points.Comments last_img read more